Testimonials

March 2016 4_stars5

I’ve been visiting PRESS for a few months now. I recently grew my hair out after many years and have had a difficult time finding someone that could respectably work with my hair. I’ve been told by several hair professionals that my hair is “difficult”, hard to work with, etc. I actually agree with them, however I think I’m still entitled to a good haircut.
I paged through online reviews and sought out Cassandra for my visit. I was impressed with how well she assessed my hair and cut it the first time. It looked good so I went back to her. The next time, my haircut was even better. Third visit, same story. She’s been able to learn more about my hair and cut and style it better each time.
Cassandra is pretty cool to talk to as well. The in-chair banter makes the visit fly by.
-Tyler T.

March 2016 4_stars5

Got my hair cut here today.  It’s my fifth time here.  My stylist today was Cassandra.  So my five trips got four different stylist – Tina, Vaan, Jill, and then Cassandra.
Cassandra was great. Shampoo was gentle and the water temperature was just right.  Hot towel for face was offered but it was a hot day so I declined.  As for hair cut, she was very detail oriented.  I think I was 2 weeks pass my originally planned haircut due to business travel, so my hair was long and a mess, but she took care of it. end result was a good looking hair that got my coworkers’ praise.
-Justin Y.

February 2016 4_stars5

Let me start by saying I am very picky when it comes to hair stylists. The reason why I am so picky is that my mom is a hair stylist and she has been cutting my hair for close to 40 years. Since I moved an hour away, I had to search for a hair stylist that is edgy, skillful, patient, down to earth, trend setter and someone I can trust.
After trying out different barber shops and salons, I finally came to PRESS men’s hair. Walking into the salon, my first impressions of the place were that the staff was welcoming and customer centric. As I checked in, they offered me a refreshment. I was starting to love this place already.  You can totally tell that this place is made for men. My hair stylist was Vaan the Scissorhand and she immediately greeted me with warmth, and asked a few concise questions to determine exactly what I wanted.  I even showed her a picture and she knew exactly what I wanted. She took me to wash my hair and then gave me a scalp massage. Those spirit fingers were releasing all the tension and stress in my head. To top it off, she put a warm towel over my face and I love every moment of it. She immediately went to work on my hair. As the scissors approaches my hair, I can hear it say “just do me dirty.”  We casually conversed throughout, and after 20 minutes, my hair was done.  I’ll have to admit out of all the times when I go to barber shops, the stylist rarely gives me the look that I specifically had in mind.  But Vaan gave me a pleasant surprise when she finished with my hair looking nearly identical to what I originally had in mind.  She just works wonder with those scissors and her precision was on point. Let me tell you, this was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made!
Vaan is now the only person I will allow to put scissors on my hair. I am able to book my appointment online  and receive text reminder confirming my appointment. I usually come here on my lunch break and head back to work. I highly recommend PRESS men hair and this shop will definitely be my hair shop in the future! I am looking forward to my next appointment in a few weeks.
-Joey L.

December 2015 4_stars5
Elysa was excellent. Good conversation and she was able to fix the mess made by a previous barber. Plus the scalp massage was nice and relaxing, although for $20, I felt it could have been longer. Also, it was rather chilly in the place but I’ll chock that up to my appointment being the first one after the doors opened at 9 am. If I lived here I would definitely become a regular.
-Mark G.

December 2015 4_stars5
Press men’s hair salon is by far the best salon I’ve been to in the two years I’ve lived in Orange County. Chloe does a remarkable job on my hair and she takes her time and does a wonderful job. From the shampoo, hot face towel, scalp massage and then the wonderful haircut it’s an all around perfect experience. Thank you Press and Chloe for everything
-Joshua S.

December 2015 4_stars5
After a year’s absence from Newport Beach, I made it a priority to schedule an appointment with Jill when I returned 2 weeks ago. Jill is amazingly talented and the ONLY stylist to have ever cut my hair and then afterward did not leave me feeling like I had to “fix” my hair somehow before returning to the office. Go to PRESS, ask for Jill, be impressed. Beautiful, talented, great personality…why go anywhere else?
-Ted N.

November 2015 5 stars red
Please allow me to provide you an annoyingly irrelevant preface to my review. About a year ago, after losing my regular hair cutter/stylist (no, she didn’t die), I decided to go to a Floyd’s in San Diego. I got a sub-par haircut from a  girl who (cue Forest Gump voice) “smelled like cigarettes,” went through a quarter-life crisis, and decided to boycott haircuts for the foreseeable future (yes, I’m likely a sociopath). Fast-forward 12 months, if I sat on the ground outside of a grocery store, people would drop change on me (maybe). Time for a haircut.
Needless to say, I’m extremely picky about who touches my hair. After some due diligence, I decided on PRESS. I called around 1:15 on Monday and was set up for a 2:00 appointment with Maxie. Despite not having the slightest clue on what I wanted to do with my hair other than some barbaric grunts and pointing to photographs, she got to the bottom of what the hell it was that I wanted. I’m too lazy to continue writing this. Maxie crushed it and I now look awesome. Highly recommend.
-Jake W.

August 2015 5 stars red
My haircut is awsome! Thank you Cassandra. You are super professional and attentive to detail. I walked out with exactly what I wanted. I’m very happy with my new summer style! 😉
-Matt D.

August 2015 5 stars red
Took my boyfriend here for the first time to get his haircut. Booked an appointment on yelp for 3pm the same morning. The salon is very nice and welcoming. The receptionist checked him in, explained what was included in the cost and offered us both a drink. Within minutes my boyfriend was sitting in the chair with Cassandra going over what cut he’d like. She took him back to get shampooed and he said it was the best part of the whole experience because it was so relaxing, especially with the hot towel over his face lol. The cut took about 40 minutes, exactly what is quoted online with no surprise waits. After the cut there was a quick rinse and style and it looked great! It worked out nicely that Cassandra was familiar with the standards of my boyfriend’s employer so she knew exactly what to do. The salon has a great vibe, much better than past shops and salons we’ve been to. Will definitely be coming back here!
-Danielle Y.

July 2015 5 stars red
Great place for a men’s cut. Jill is the BEST!!! Never going to anyone else.
-Arnold O.

July 2015 5 stars red
Found this place on yelp, all the reviews are correct.  It’s a cool place and reasonable price for a full service men’s haircut that includes hair rinse with a hot face towel, cut, re-rinse, and style.  Cassandra was very detail oriented, easy going, and did a great job!  I will definitely go back.
-Jimmy M.

July 2015 5 stars red
This was my second time at Press and once again it was one of the best hair cut experiences I’ve had. The staff is terrific – Tina cut my hair last time, this time Jill. They’re super friendly and professional, go above and beyond in the level of service for the price point (complementary drink and rinse/wash), and pay great attention to detail with the cut. I’ve been very happy both times. My only regret is that I’ll be moving out of the are later this summer – otherwise this would be my regular staple.
-Bernie Z.

July 2015 5 stars red
I came here yesterday after not having had a haircut for 7 months since I had shaved my head completely during that time. I’m always a little apprehensive about getting haircuts but I’m super happy I gave Press a chance.
I was able to easily get a haircut appointment for the same day and was assigned to Cassandra. When I got there I was quickly greeted and offered a beverage by the receptionist. Cassandra came out promptly and we quickly got onto discussing how I wanted it cut. She was happy to oblige my request for a dry cut since I feel my hair is easier to cut that way and comes out looking better. I’ve had some stylists in the past who weren’t comfortable cutting hair dry so I was pleased when she said it was no problem. Cassandra was super laid back easy to talk to. My hair can be difficult to manage and she even gave me some technical tips which will be helpful to cut down the time it takes my hair to look presentable.
The salon itself is really open and inviting. It’s been open just over a year now and they seem to be doing well. I’d recommend making making an appointment rather than walking in. Also you get 10% off for checking in on Yelp.
Overall, the place has a great vibe and I’m super happy with how my haircut turned out. If you need a stylist then I’d highly recommend Cassandra.
-Ali L.

May 2015 5 stars red
Super open and clean space. Very welcoming and attentive service. I was searching for 2 months for a new stylist and i am happy that my search is over. Cassandra was very cool, easy going and i noticed she had great attention to detail. Left with a very satisfied hair style.
Price is amazingly affordable, at least for me. They offer a complimentary beverage for every hair cut. I would totally recommend this place to friends.
-Javier R.

March 2015 5 stars red
We walked in this am and got an appointment with Jill for 4:15pm. She was on time and did an awesome job on my husband’s hair. She was super friendly and professional. The salon is very modern, clean and tailored for men. My husband is super happy with his cut and will definitely go back.
-Ryer F.

March 2015 5 stars red
Jill is the bomb. Great cut. Great price. Super nice.
-William E.

February 2015 5 stars red
This place is awesome! The stylists seem to be upper tier and experienced. The place is decorated very nicely. Everyone was very welcoming and helpful upon arrival. This was my first haircut here and my stylist was Cassandra. I highly recommend her, she’s nice and experienced.
This is by far the best haircut I have ever gotten. I would highly recommend it and I plan on returning!
– Hunter R.

January 2015 5 stars red
This place is great! I love April, she’s got such great style, and really cuts my hair perfect. I don’t live in Newport, but I’ve now come here twice. I’ll try and find an excuse to come down here at least once every other month so I can come here for my haircut! I get so many compliments.
– Justin S.

August 2014 5 stars red
Such great service! Jill was amazing and so friendly! Will be back soon!
-Danny C.

 

Other Haircut Testimonials

November 2015 5 stars red
Vaan is an extraordinarily talented hair stylist! To say I am particular and picky about my hair is an understatement and Vaan has always been patient and extremely accommodating.  She knows exactly how to cut my hair and does it perfectly every single time.(quickly I may add)
A must try if you need a new stylist or even if you’re looking to try something new!
-John S.

November 2015 5 stars red
All the stylist are super friendly. I brought my son in to get his haircut. They cut it just like the picture we brought it. I loved the environment. Definitely referring all my friends.
-Nina L.

September 2015 5 stars red
Fantastic hair cuts for a very reasonable price. They take their time to get it right. I’ve had both April and Tina cut my hair and both do a great job. Highly recommend trying this place.
-Alex S.

September 2015 5 stars red
My mom has been a professional hairstylist and cosmetologist for almost 26 years, so i’ve always had my haircut done by her. Now that I’m all grown up and on my own and away from home, I had to look for a new stylist. It’s kind of weird getting my hair cut by someone else other than my mom but I needed a haircut badly, so I did my research. I was hesitant at first when I came into the place because it’s relatively new and I didn’t know any of the hairstylists. Tina took me into her chair, gave me a throughout consultation with another hairstylist because I had no idea what to do with my hair, so they helped me figure out the best way to achieve the “look” I was trying to aim for. I honestly can say that this haircut is better any haircut my mom has ever given me (sorry, mom). My haircut doesn’t look like I just gotten it quickly buzzed and lined, it looks natural and the top of my hair flows naturally with a lot of volume. She even offered to re-do it for free the next day if I wasn’t satisfied with the cut. Free drinks, double hair wash and conditioning, detailed cutting, and blowdrying for only 30 dollars! This place is friendly, clean, and can I emphasize talented?! Love you mom, but I’m gonna stick to PRESS Men’s Hair cut from now on . :X
-LeVincent T.

August 2015 5 stars red
I recently relocated to Newport Beach from the Bay Area. The only real concern I had was whether I’d be able to find a stylist as good as mine in San Francisco I had for over 8 years and loved.
I asked around the office for recommendations but didn’t get the sense that anyone I asked as really anomored with their stylist. So, I turned to Yelp as I have for many services. Based on the reviews I zeroed in on Press Men’s Hair Salon and made an appointment. I wasn’t too worried if it didn’t work out as I need a cut every month. Well, let me say I couldn’t be happier with every aspect of of the experience.
The salon is clean, bright, well appointed and has a hip vibe. It has a comfortable waiting area with magazines and complimentary beverages. I’ve been to salons in all the places I’ve lived, Manhattan, Miami, LA, Honolulu and San Francisco and have never experienced the little details that set Press apart.
First, the initial shampoo was really a scalp massage and with the hot facial cloth I though I was in a spa. Next, I gave no instructions to Vaan other than I need a cut once a month. With that she gave me the exact haircut I wanted even without me providing any details at all. I loved it and it grew out just the way I hoped. Next, I’ve never been taken back for a second washing after the cut before being styled out. What a treat not having to go back to work itching and scratching from all the left over hair from the cut. Lastly, not only is Vaan an amazing stylist, she’s also a super person. We chatted non stop through the cut and I find her to be intelligent, articulate and a very down to earth and friendly person. It added another dimension to the experience unlike many stylists who prefer you not to talk while they work.
I’d recommend Vaan and Press Men’s Hair to any of my friends without reservation.
-Matthew T.

July 2015 5 stars red
First time visit – called in for a last minute appointment but PRESS had no issues finding a good time that works. Vaan was awesome and I’m definitely pleased with both the cut and the quality of service. Clean space as well. Will be back for more for sure!
-MD M.

July 2015 5 stars red
First time visit – called in for a last minute appointment but PRESS had no issues finding a good time that works. Vaan was awesome and I’m definitely pleased with both the cut and the quality of service. Clean space as well. Will be back for more for sure!
-MD M.

June 2015 5 stars red
I have gone here a number of times for both a facial trim and haircuts. They never disappoint. I have always been very particular about how my hair is cut, wanting a certain look. From the first time I went, I was able to work with the hair stylist to come up with a plan for how I want my hair. Great service and good vibe to the place, but most importantly, I have always liked my haircut and have always been very satisfied. I’ve tried other men’s hair salon’s in the area, I recommend this one above any other.
-Spencer F.

June 2015 5 stars red
They are best in scissor cut . would love to go again . staff is so friendly and beautiful too 🙂
Keep up the good work
-Nakul D.

June 2015 5 stars red
This place is great. From the receptionist to the stylists. Really can’t beat it. From the time I went in I was treated like family and they really cared to make me look my best. Vaan is incredible. I get so many compliments after leaving there. I wish they could style my hair every morning! Thanks all for making a trim a fantastic experience and not a chore.
-Ryan O.

May 2015 5 stars red
Woohoo! I seriously love this place. For $30 you get you hair washed, your head massaged, a hot, soothing towel on your face, a haircut, and styling. I’ve gone twice so far and I’ve loved my service both times. Love the massage, love the attention to detail while cutting hair, love the way they style my hair and give me tips on what I can do to with my hair type. All the stylists are great to talk to and very friendly. I will be coming back here for as long as I live in OC!
-Michael K.

May 2015 5 stars red
Completley amazing. I love this place. Extremely professional through the whole experience, friendly staff paired in a great atmosphere. They immediately offer a beverage of choice, take your name and in minutes you’re in their care. I have never felt more welcome. Thank you Press. You ladies rock!
-Zachary E.

March 2015 5 stars red
Got my hair cut here about four times now and April hooks it up every time. If you get a fade on the sides or just a traditional high and tight, then she’s your girl. Would recommend going here for any guy looking to get an above par haircut.
-Josh M.

March 2015 5 stars red
This place is awesome! Have been to many barbers and professional stylists in the area and it’s hard to find someone who matches your personality and understands what you’re looking for. Press Men’s Hair does both with a relaxed, yet professional interaction with their clients.
-John S.

March 2015 5 stars red
Vaan is excellent! And the salon is beautiful. Only Bumble and Bumble men’s salon in the whole country! Great product and great people.
-Andy F.

March 2015 5 stars red
Excellent results and very good prices for the services.  Everyone is friendly and as a customer you feel well taken care of when you walk out.  Highly recommend it!!!
-Ramin Z.

March 2015 5 stars red
I have very hard, thick, straight hair and a bad head shape and most hair stylists cannot cut and manage my hair to make it look good. So my friend who is a hair stylist in Beverly Hills has been cutting my hair until I moved to OC.  I tried several hair stylists but it didn’t go well.  I found PRESS on Yelp since they had 100% of 5 star reviews… Great atmosphere, great service, great hair stylists and great price. Highly recommended.
-Hiro Z.

February 2015 5 stars red
I was searching for a new men’s salon for my husband and came across this on Yelp. We were not disappointed!
Ask for April! She is incredible! She is also the educator at the salon. Her passion and attention to detail was incomparable to any previous stylists my husband had been to and it shows in her haircuts. She was friendly and experienced to boot.
After bouncing around salons, my husband has finally found his spot. And knowing how picky he is with haircuts, this is a big deal. I asked about the previous bad reviews and I was going told that stylist is no longer with the salon, so no bad haircuts here.
-Hiro Z.

December 2014 5 stars red

Got my first cut there tonight – never going anywhere else. They legit know how to do real men’s haircuts, not just #2 buzz cuts. Super nice staff, reasonable prices and my stylist spent an hour on my hair!!  That’s a good thing – she didn’t try to race me through, took her time to really make sure the cut was good. And offered that if I had second thoughts later on about length or anything, just come back and she’d be happy to touch me up.  This place is fantastic.
-James C.

December 2014 5 stars red
Very cool and clean place with professional friendly people. I’v definitely found my favorite barbershop.
-Mehdi S.

December 2014 5 stars red
They really knew what they were doing! Very stylish and knowledgeable. Fun to talk to and really made an effort to make sure that I got the haircut I wanted. Pricy but worth it!
-Kevin G.

December 2014 5 stars red
Highly recommend PRESS for any man that wants to be taken care of when it comes to a hair cut. I was always the guy trying to find the cheapest cut around town and never really cared about my hair or how it looked. My wife encouraged me to seek out once my career became more profound. We started searching for places and came across PRESS. I was apprehensive at first but that quickly went away once I walked thru the door. The place is very clean and attention to detail is spot on. Everyone is so friendly and welcoming. Jill was my stylist and has been now for 3 cuts. I do not plan on going anywhere any time soon. She is excellent at what she does. I have gotten numerous compliments on my hair and I can’t thank her enough. You guys have to check this place out!
-Kevin E.

December 2014 5 stars red
Needed a haircut and after reading the reviews from yelp and hearing from a friend I went there. To put it simply: I’ll be going there for as long as I’m in OC. My stylist was April, she was fantastic. If you can ask for her, by all means do it. Super sweet, she listens and knows her stuff.
Pros:
1. They know what they are doing.
2. This is a place for guys
3. Price, for about $5-10 more than your chain haircut place you get alot more. and I do mean alot more.
4. People are friendly
5. Did I mention it’s a place for guys!
Bottom line, if their service remains the same, they have me hooked..
-S F.

November 2014 5 stars red
Without question, one of the very best mens salons in the newport area, very professional and timely service, and talented, attentive, courteous staff, including Jill who was excellent at my last visit. The premises are always spotless, good vibe, relaxing atmosphere. Am recommending to all friends and family. Great job and much success to the whole team at PRESS!
-James C.

November 2014 5 stars red
Ask for APRIL. I walked in looking like Forest Gump and walked out looking like James Bond. Best men’s haircut I’ve ever had. I didn’t know what I wanted but I knew I wanted something different than the boring ole cut I’ve had for the past 15 years. April immediately knew what she wanted to do just based on the shape of my head (it’s a triangle in case you were wondering) and the texture of my hair. The color match is spot on and natural. Thanks April, I’ll be back. 🙂
-Mark M.

November 2014 5 stars red
I was in need of a change so decided to go with this place due to the great reviews. Amazing! The salon is nicely decorated and simplified in a great way. The music was matching of the type of men’s salon. The price point is all inclusive at [38$] solid which might seem kinda pricey but honestly it’s worth every penny.
I had the pleasure of working with Helena which was a bad ass person to have cutting my hair. Most times when I’m getting my hair done, I’d rather just not talk to them. She was relatable, relevant, and was really rad to talk with. I came in with longer type hair and wanted to go shorter but advised I wouldn’t mind if she just went with how she felt it needed to go. A+ job and I’m super happy with it.
Loved the scalp massage and hot towel on my face afterward as well. It was a great time overall. I highly recommend.
-Derrick B.

November 2014 5 stars red
I tried Press for the first time yesterday and I’m so glad I did.My stylist Jill was super friendly,informative and helpful in choosing the right look for me.Their $30 men’s haircut comes with a hot towel treatment and a shampoo as well which is a plus.It is so hard looking for a right hair salon that caters to your needs but press will not disappoint guys,I promise.
-Alex T.

September 2014 5 stars red
PRESS Men’s Hair is top notch! I’ve had nothing but positive experiences. Vaan (the owner) is extremely talented and knowledgable. She really listens to what you want to do with your hair and is quite friendly and personable. The store itself is very clean and well decorated.
I highly recommend this place for boys/men of all ages who want a high quality haircut/style for a reasonable price.
-Chad T.

August 2014 5 stars red
We just moved to CA from GA and had a great experience today when we randomly walked in to Press Men’s Hair. Great service and both of my boys were very content. Had to send my husband as well – highly recommend them.
-Helene L.

August 2014 5 stars red
Stylist= Jill Colligan
I had an awesome experience today!  I wanted to try a new place out that was really close to my home in Costa Mesa, and I am happy to say that I found my new GO-TO!
I had the pleasure of being taken care of by Jill Colligan.  She is really kind and friendly, and I learned quickly that she is a real PRO!  She really took her time with an all scissor cut, and won me over instantly.  As advertised, they really do work with the type of hair that you have to give you the best cut.  I went back and forth going between pricier salons and SuperCuts… I now feel like I have the BEST OF BOTH WORLDS.  A fair price for a stellar quality cut that includes a beverage, shampoo, head message, rinse, and product!
The decor is really cool and they have a few flat screen TVs.  Everyone is super friendly, and the place is not intimidating for guys who are clueless about their hair… luckily I’ve grown beyond that stage of my life, and I appreciate a good quality cut.
I HIGHLY recommend Jill Colligan and I will absolutely go back to her again.
-Chris R.

June 2014 5 stars red
This place was very impressive. The women that greet to the ladies that cut your hair. All of them are true professionals and it was a pleasure getting my hair cut in such a fine establishment. The fine young lady that cut my hair was named Ana and she was very knowledgeable already working 4 years in the business and she asked direct questions on how I wanted my hair cut and she then cut it to exact specifications. My wife was very happy with the results. Thanks again, Press!!! I will be back again. Ana, you are a fine young lady and am very impressed by your working two jobs helping support your family. And you kick butt at cutting hair. See you in a couple months.
-Danny P.

May 2014 5 stars red
We love Press Men’s Hair!! I have 2 sons and I will always recommend this Salon to the men! It’s so unique because it is a salon catering to men but soooo much classier than a barber shop!!! Vaan is soooo talented and we will continue to go to Press!! Thanks Vaan for your expertise!!
-Yvette M.

April 2014 5 stars red
My fiance used to go to supercuts for his hair cuts and then tried PRESS and what a difference!!!  Now his hair looks wayyy better!  You can tell the quality of the cut from a mile away!  If you want to look great and feel great and have a great experience doing it I highly recommend PRESS!
-Alicen B.

April 2014 5 stars red
If you are looking for a clean sophisticated cut this is the place. But don’t get me wrong if you are looking for a asymmetrical foe hawk this is also the establishment.  I say this because I have gotten almost every cut you can think of from hair cutter extraordinaire Van T. Sheahan. I have been a client of Van’s for over 8 years and to say that she knows my hair is an understatement. I pride myself on changing my style whenever I feel something is getting stale; and Van has always been able to deliver that new style I’m looking for. Whether its my latest look tailored from the Rag Time look of The Great Gatsby or the classic high and tight Van’s work with my hair in a word is Magic.
-Miguel A.

March 2014 5 stars red
I have been getting my hair did by Vaan for a number of years, and all I can say is WOW! If she can make ME look good, imagine what she can do for someone normal! Thanks Vaan! Get yourself to PRESS!
-Chris D.

March 2014 5 stars red
This is hands down the best hair cut experience I have ever had.
-Wesley T.

March 2014 5 stars red
Best place for a stylish cut..ever. the best hair cut ever I have ever got in my life.
-Ramin Z.

March 2014 5 stars red
The best hair cut ever I have ever got in my life.
-Hector V.